Maybe I am changing after all…

Change is hard.  I know I’m not the only one who struggles with changing bad habits.  I want to the best version of me that I can be, and it’s something I work on daily.  Little by little, I am changing for the better.

I know lots of people who believe that people never change, but I just don’t think it’s true.  Perhaps it’s more realistic because the majority of us never really change our ways, but I’m a little more hopeful than that.  People can change.  They just have to want it.  And even when they do want it, just because it’s wanted doesn’t mean it happens.  It’s hard.

But anyway.  Yesterday I was working on a ghostwriting project for a client, which took all of my afternoon.  In the morning, I worked on filling out my calendar for the next few months.  I should have worked out then, but I didn’t.

I do that a lot.  When I know I should be doing one thing but don’t want to do it, I will do something else that isn’t as important but still needs to be done.  I reason and compromise with myself, saying that at least I’m doing something when I’m really just avoiding doing what needs to be done.

Usually when I put off a task I end up not doing it all that day, or if I do it, I do it half-heartedly.

But not yesterday.  It was 9:30pm, and I still hadn’t exercised yet.  But I promised earlier in the day that I would.  The old me would have just gone to bed.  But that’s not what I did.

I worked out hard for 2 hours.  I was proud of myself for sticking to my word.  I’m working on this whole integrity thing!

I hate working out at night, but I did it anyway.

Maybe I am changing a little bit after all…

One response to “Maybe I am changing after all…

Thoughts? Comments?

