Better Than Yesterday…

Yesterday was a bit of a rough day for me.  But today is a new day, and I’m choosing to make it better.  

So far so good.  

I slept in a little, already did an intense hour on the elliptical, had a delicious serving of oatmeal with peaches, cinnamon, and a little brown sugar (I was craving Peach Cobbler!), and now I’m posting on my blog.  And my weight is back down again, so that’s exciting, too.

This entire process is a learning experience.  I had a good conversation with Ben yesterday about my motivation, how easily I give up, and how I have trouble accepting positive criticism.  It really put a light to everything.  All my life I would quit things if they got too hard.  No one ever really pushed me to do better (not that they should have), and I certainly never pushed myself to be better.  I’ve always settled.  OK is almost always good enough for me.  And I do that with my health.

I really want that to change.  The point is–yeah, maybe I’ve lost 85+ pounds in 4 years, which I know is an incredible loss so don’t misunderstand me here–I can do better.  

I’m not trying to be perfect.  I just want to do better than my personal best.  That’s all I want.  That’s why I was upset yesterday because I know I’m not doing my best.  And I want to do better.  I have to do better.  I want to end the day knowing I did all I could do to make myself happy and healthy.

I’m sure I’ll have more days like yesterday, but I’m going on.  I’m continuing on this lifelong journey.  And pretty soon, it’s all going to be wonderful.  Maybe it’s already a bit wonderful.

12 responses to “Better Than Yesterday…

  • littlemoreeachday

    If you pick up and try again at the beginning of the new day, that’s more than a bit wonderful. 🙂

  • sagelit

    Your oatmeal sounds delicious. You’re already down 85+, you know you can do this!

  • jenniferfn74

    Laura, you need to be accountable outside yourself if you aren’t able to have it within right now. Do you have a coach or a trainer?

  • jenniferfn74

    I’m reading through your posts and discovering part of your issue. Cardio. Stop it. Well, don’t stop it entirely, but you need weight training and resistance training now. Muscle burns fat. You need muscle as your calorie burner to rev up your internal metabolism. Cardio just won’t do it. It won’t.
    But, your success depends 80% on what goes in your mouth. EAT CLEAN AND TRAIN MEAN!!
    Now, get off the frigging scale!!! Don’t you see how it’s messing with your head!? I dropped three dress sizes, from a 10 to a 4 and my scale weight NEVER CHANGED! I thought I was a failure because the stupid number wouldn’t move. But I finally realized it as I was dropping , 8…..6….4 holy crap, last week I just bought a size 2 pair of jeans!!!
    Disclaimer….. I am 40 years old and have had three children. This is NOT an impossible goal for you to BE SMALLER and more fit. But, aim for HEALTH AND WELL BEING as your goal and get off the scale!!!
    http://Www.toscareno.com
    When I found this, it changed my life.
    Clean eating. Your body needs fuel and you need to build a healthy relationship with your nutrition. Start here.
    Beyond that, I’ll keep checking in on you to see what else I can do to help.

  • 241lady

    I’m very proud of you! We all have different methods for how to get somewhere. Some take baby steps. Some, like you, start running full out. I don’t think the method is as important as the attempt. The full out running may wind you and cause you to take breaks, but you start again. We eventually both get there. Regardless which one you embrace, take time to appreciate the journey. Learning from it will help lessen the likelihood you’ll have to do it again later down the road. I’m so glad you’re apart of our group.

    • Laura-is-Inspired

      Thanks, Margie! I really like how you said to take time to appreciate the journey. You are so right! I don’t want to repeat this again LOL! I will think of some ways to appreciate the now instead of just looking to the future 🙂

  • smittenness

    I admire and respect your approach. Especially this ‘I want to end the day knowing I did all I could do to make myself happy and healthy’ . Sometimes looking back at all you’ve already achieved can be motivating and a bit wonderful. All the best to you Laura : )

Thoughts? Comments?

