Ellipticals, TV, & Sore Losers

Three days in to my month-long goal of losing 30 pounds and blogging every day.  So far so good.  Up half a pound from yesterday, but I’m certainly not worried about it.  Weight fluctuates so much, which is why sometimes I just don’t weigh myself at all.  But I’ve learned to not freak out when it doesn’t move … but especially when it moves upward instead!

I’ve been logging a lot of hours on my elliptical these last few days, and with music or the TV, I’ve somehow managed to not go completely crazy.  I have a feeling I’m going to burn out on just doing the elliptical.  I should probably start running again, and maybe even throw in some jumping rope.  I don’t want to get stuck in a rut.  But the elliptical is working for now, so I’ll just let that be my main cardio for awhile.

I bought it in the winter, and I’m pretty sure it’s one of the best investments I’ve ever made.  It was expensive, but it’s so worth it.  Now I don’t have to spend hours in the gym.  Now I just spend hours in my living room!

I’m trying to come up with ways to make exercise more fun.  Here’s what I have so far:

1. Exercise with someone who will encourage and push you!  Having little competitions — who can jump the rope the longest without tripping; who can shoot the most baskets; who can run around the block the fastest — is a great way to push yourself and have fun at the same time.  Unless that friend happens to be a sore loser.  And if that’s the case, you might just want to skip the exercise buddy all together.

2. Add new music to your workout playlist.  I have a few songs that I will probably never get tired of exercising to.  “Purple Rain” and “When Doves Cry” by Prince are two of those.  I also enjoy listening to Ed Sheeran, Gavin DeGraw, and the Avett Brothers.  I will never get tired of listening to them. But I’m always switching up my playlist and adding new songs.  Even if I just add one or two new songs and keep the rest of them the same, it makes it different enough to keep my interest.

3. Add variety to your workout schedule. Like I said earlier, I can tell I’ll get tired of the elliptical only soon.  Adding running and jumping rope will help.  Also, I’m going to throw in some yoga.  And I’m going to find local gyms & classes to try for free or on discount.  This way, I won’t be doing the same thing every day.

These are the three I’m going to focus on for now.  I know there are others–many others!  I’d love to hear what you do to make working out fun.

 

7 responses to “Ellipticals, TV, & Sore Losers

  • bejamin4

    I like the 3 you added here. I wasn’t expecting that!

  • everythingmommy2009

    Reblogged this on Fitness Mama and commented:
    Great tips!

  • Rob Vanasco

    Variety is definitely important, and working out with other people. I also think planning your workouts ahead of time makes a huge difference. The less you have to think about what you are going to do, the better. If you know Wednesday is elliptical day, and Thursday is a run day, then you just go do it, instead of trying to figure out on Wednesday what you are going to do that day (if that makes sense). For me, I use group fitness classes. All I have to do is show up on time and let the trainer do the rest. Tell me what to do and I will do it, leave it up to me, and it’s not going to be a very challenging workout.

    • Laura-is-Inspired

      You are so right about the non-challenging workouts if left to yourself! I’m typically the same way. Group fitness classes are really fun! I should join one again! I agree with you that planning the workouts in advance helps. I almost always do this. I like to know what I’m doing, when I’m doing it, and how long it’s going to take. It makes it all go smoother!

  • littlemoreeachday

    I have certain audiobooks or podcasts that I really enjoy that I only let myself listen to on my runs, so if I want to know what’s happening next, I have to hit the street!

Thoughts? Comments?

