I CAN RUN!

2014-04-21 22.55.20

The title should probably be: I can jog…….slowly.

But oh well 🙂

I feel like I’ve been trying to lose weight my entire life, mostly because I have been.

I’ve been following a healthy lifestyle plan that Ben and I created (one of my next posts will be about that!), which really works when I follow it!  I’ve lost 10 pounds since April, which honestly would be a lot more if I would follow it better.  But still … it’s a loss!

And what’s even more exciting is that I’ve finally gotten into running!  I’m terribly slow, but I realize I have to start somewhere.  I have to be slow before I can go fast.  I have a feeling it’s going to be worth the wait and the hard work!

My grandma passed away a few weeks ago, so I went to Indiana to visit my family.  I usually use an elliptical for my cardio and wasn’t sure how I was going to get my workouts in regularly.  My first day I decided to run a trail close by my parents’ house.  To my surprise, I ran the entire thing without stopping (1.6 miles), which took about 26 minutes.

I was there for 12 days, and I ran 8 of those days and went to the gym another day because of the rain.  One day I ran to the trail and then ran the trail twice (!) and then ran back to my parents’ house.  I ran for 49 minutes straight.

When I got back home, I went for a 5 mile run and ran it without stopping once.  It took me one hour.

I’m excited about the running because I know it’s going to help me lose weight faster!

It would have been awesome if I would have eaten really clean while in Indiana, but at least I can run now!  Oh the places I will go… I’m pretty excited.

What have you accomplished recently that you are really proud of?  How did you do it?  I would love to hear your stories of overcoming something you thought you could never do.

 

14 responses to “I CAN RUN!

  • Herbalife Nutrition

    Reblogged this on Herbalife Nutrition and commented:
    Laura, that is fantastic. A real achievement. You can see the progress that you have made in that short time. Marathon runner here we come.
    I have made a lot of progress with my fitness level over the past 3 or 4 years but this has been slow. I was frightened of water. But 2 years ago, when I found land based exercise difficult after having had a previous knee injury, I set myself a target of learning to swim. I can now swim 1000m in 35 minutes. Not bad! I swam 1000m this morning but was swimming 3-4 times a week. This has not been so regular just of late. I feel more motivated to continue after reading your blog. Thank you for your encouragement.

  • everythingmommy2009

    That is awesome!! Did you also do any weight training to build up or strengthen your back muscles, that’s what I need to do to run…

  • Alison Kitchen

    Laura, I just started running again after a twenty year hiatus. I had back surgery twenty years ago and have been afraid of hurting my back. I am a total slogger too- very slow but I get there. Am currently doing about two miles and then walking the two miles back. I am SO EXCITED about this development and am SO excited for you too. Running, however slowly, is so empowering. It has always been my go-to exercise and now I am doing it again! At sixty! No way! Keep up the good work. I am so happy for you.

  • littlemoreeachday

    Congrats on getting back to running! My accomplishment this week was tracking something I ate that I really didn’t want to track 🙂

  • Lili

    It doesn’t matter how slow you run, or jog. The most important thing is that you do run or jog, and that you try your best. And it definitely seems like you are, so congratulations to that! Also congrats on losing weight. Keep going and you’ll reach your ultimate goal!

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother. I send you hugs!

  • crimeinvest

    I know exactly what you mean. I have struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. I have also taking up slow jogging but can jog 1.30miles in about 13 min. I am not trying for speed but for my distance. My goal is to jog Pat’s run next April which is 4.2 miles. You are doing an awesome job.

Thoughts? Comments?

