Oh The Places You’ll Go With Mango & Avocado!

2014-04-28 13.47.07

I love to cook, and I especially love to cook when I can make things quickly and in advance with just a few ingredients, which is what I did this weekend.  This time around, mango and avocado were my main ingredients, and I had to use them because they were about to spoil.

I boiled a dozen eggs.

*Tip: Boiled eggs are easier to peel when they aren’t super fresh, so I buy 2 dozen at a time and boil the second dozen the following week or so.

I took a few eggs and made avocado deviled eggs, which are really easy and fast to make!  Instead of mayo, I used half of an avocado, and I also used only 4 of the egg yolks instead of the 6 yolks to cut down on the fat and calories some.  I blended them together with some salt and pepper and a little lemon juice and then dusted the filled eggs with paprika.  I just spooned the filling in the eggs, but sometimes I pipe the filling if I want them to look extra pretty.

The other boiled eggs will be eaten as snacks or with breakfast the rest of the week.

2014-04-28 13.47.34

With the other half of the avocado, I made an avocado and mango salsa. I also made homemade corn tortilla chips that aren’t pictured here.  Super easy!

The salsa ingredients & directions:

1. Mash 1/2 avocado with a few splashes of lemon (or lime) juice

2. Dice jalapenos (however hot you like it), one tomato, 1/4 of a red onion, and 1/2 of a mango

3. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and mix all together

The corn tortilla chip ingredients & directions:

1. Cut corn tortillas into 6ths or 4ths and brush each side with olive oil (I only used 1 tablespoon for all of the chips.)

2. Bake in a 325 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.

They were a little too crunchy, but I’m guessing if I only baked them for 10 minutes instead of 12 they would’ve been perfect!

2014-04-28 13.47.56

With the other half of the mango, I just cut it up and put it away for a smoothie later that weekend.

Lastly, I made a simple chicken salad that had nothing to do with avocados or mangoes.  However, I’m guessing a chicken salad with avocado instead of mayo, and using bits of mango mixed in would be rather tasty, too!

Anyway, I just mixed together:

shredded chicken breast (a 2.5 serving-sized can) or you could use fresh chicken breast!

with 1 tablespoon of safflower mayo (or regular) (It’s a bit more dry than a typical chicken salad, but it really cuts down on the calories.

1 cup of sliced grapes,

and 1/4 cup of diced red onion (the same onion from the salsa).

I added salt, pepper, and celery salt.  Sorry, I don’t really measure anything so I’m not positive on the amounts of spices.  I eat mine with gluten free table crackers, but it’d be equally good with spinach or on bread.

2014-04-28 13.47.40I never really added up the calories for each recipe, but I know all of them were low-calorie & delicious!

What do you enjoy cooking that is easy and healthy?  Or what kinds of ingredients do you like to use for several different recipes at a time?  I’d love to hear from you!!

8 responses to “Oh The Places You’ll Go With Mango & Avocado!

Thoughts? Comments?

