Doughnuts & My Poor, Neglected Elliptical

It’s 11:30 am.  I’m sitting on the couch in my pajamas.  I can see my elliptical from the corner of my eye.  Unused.

It’s been a week now, and I haven’t exercised, which sucks even more considering I didn’t work much this week and actually had a huge amount of time to workout.  But I was lazy.

And I’ve eaten really bad this week, too.  Not bad enough to gain a lot of weight, but definitely bad enough to make me feel like crap.  I had Domino’s pizza – a medium – all by myself over the course of two meals.  Granted, it didn’t have cheese on it, but still.  And I had 2 cream sodas, which I never really drink.  And I also had a 10inch hoagie (no mayo or cheese, but still).  And a lot of Lay’s potato chips.  Oh, and let’s not forget the 3 1/2 doughnuts I had in one sitting.  I feel so gross.

It’s so easy to do sometimes.  A few posts back, I was talking about how getting out of my routine ruins me.

Well, consider me ruined.

Or maybe not ruined, but almost ruined.  I guess I am still in control of whether or not I’m ruined.

Funny thing is, I went on a road trip last weekend, and I even wrote a post about how I was going to eat healthy.  And it worked!  I actually ate great over the weekend.  It was just the coming home part that messed me up.

Sometimes it’s easy to look at your goals and want to quit.  They seem so far away, and you seem so out of it.  But the longer you look at your goals and do nothing, the further away they become.  And the further away they become, the more of a failure you think you are.  And the more of a failure you think you are, the easier it is to give up on your goals, because after all, they just seem so far away.  It’s a nasty cycle.

So I have a decision to make:  Stay comfy in my pajamas but feel like a failure.  OR.  Get my butt up, put on some yoga pants and work up a sweat and lessen the gap between me and my far-away goals….

I choose feeling good about myself.  I choose health.  I choose sweat.  I choose strength.

And besides, my yoga pants are much more comfy than my pajamas anyway.

6 responses to “Doughnuts & My Poor, Neglected Elliptical

Thoughts? Comments?

