Road Trips = Crappy Food… or Does it?

So I’m going on a road trip tomorrow, and I’m pretty excited.

10 hour drives suck though.

And it’s way too easy to eat junk food from gas stations or McDonald’s, but in reality, eating the high fat, over-processed, sugary crap makes the trip that much worse for me.

Who wants to have a sugar crash at hour 4?  Not me!  Who wants to have to stop to pee after downing the 44 oz soda?  Not me!  Who wants to deal with the queasy stomach and stinky gas from the bean burrito from Taco Bell?  Not me!

I want the road trip to go as smoothly (and quickly!) as possible.  I’m amazingly able to take a 10 hour road trip and only stop once half way to fill up the gas tank and use the restroom.  That’s my plan for this trip as well.

My goal: to get there stopping only once, but more importantly, to have a happy stomach and plenty of energy!

My plan: packing my own food and drinks!

I’m only drinking water (but I’m not drinking much of it, because I don’t want to pee every other minute).  I’ve found it works if I occasionally sip the water for the first few hours and drink maybe an entire bottle an hour before I stop for a break, that way I’m getting enough water but in a strategic manner.

As for food, I packed homemade chicken salad with crackers, grapes, celery, carrots, apples, bananas, granola bars, peeled boiled eggs, oatmeal muffins, fruit snacks, and baked chips.  This nice variety will give me enough for breakfast, lunch, and snacks.

I’m ready for my healthy-eating road trip!

I haven’t seen my family for six months, and I am so ready to meet my newest niece Ruby (4 months old) and see my other nieces (Zoey, Millie, Alba, & Olivia) and my nephew (Wyatt) and the rest of my family too!

I’m not going to worry about exercising, though I probably should.  But as long as I’m eating healthy, I won’t feel too bad.

How do you eat healthy on the go?  What are your go-to foods and exercises for when you aren’t home?

11 responses to “Road Trips = Crappy Food… or Does it?

  • healthaddict00

    Have fun!

  • aschlady

    I just went on a road trip and unfortunately gained 5 pounds. I have quickly lost it again. I brought some of my own stuff, blueberries, oranges, walnuts (I’m really shooting for super foods). I like all of the ideas you listed. I also brought my yoga mat and had several opportunities to exercise. My main problem for this trip is that I was tagging along with my parents and two kids in tow and the plan was to stop together to grab food before hitting the road again. All the eating out (and snacking on the things my parents brought) was probably what made me gain the weight. But, I’m back to my good home habits and not having stuff in my house that I don’t want to be eating. Phew, sorry for the long post.

  • Penny

    Kudos to you for pre-thinking about what you’ll eat. I will help you resist the cake at the party – you know it won’t be worth it anyway, so don’t even pick it up. We can hide the junk food at our house! And I have a yoga mat, a jump rope, and maybe some various gym equipment out in the garage so you can at least do some exercising! Can’t wait to see you!

  • Penny

    What I meant about the cake was that the calories won’t be worth the guilt you’ll feel. :o)

    • Laura-is-Inspired

      hahaha… i know what you meant. i’m not going to eat anything bad while i’m there. i’ve already decided that 🙂 and thanks for the offer of the exercise equipment, but it’s just a few days, and i probably wouldn’t anyway 🙂

  • Scott Campsall

    Wow! I totally want to go on a road trip now! Sounds like an amazing menu! Have a safe and enjoyable trip!

Thoughts? Comments?

