Excuses, excuses…

When it comes to finding excuses to NOT workout, I’m pretty sure no one is better than me!

Oh, it’s snowing?  Probably shouldn’t drive in case it’s icy.

What?  I have to work late?  I’ll be too tired to workout when I get home.

Crap, I just started.  Guess I have to take the week off.

I ate a cupcake?  Exercising is just a waste at this point.

Excuses, excuses, excuses.

These excuses don’t even make sense, because won’t exercising at least help negate the calories from the cupcake?  And isn’t it true that exercising actually gives you more energy and can help alleviate cramps?

All of my excuses are just silly.  I use them, because let’s face it, I’m either too lazy or too scared to meet my goals.  When you want something bad enough, you make it happen.  You don’t let little things (or big things) stand in your way.  I would always let anything I could remotely turn into a reason to not exercise get in my way.  It’s tiring.  It’s like I spend more time finding ways to get out of doing something when I could just do it and get it over with.

So that’s what I’ve been doing lately.  No excuses with working out.  Can’t make it to the gym?  Hey, I have an elliptical AT MY HOUSE!  I have weights and yoga videos and jump ropes… I really have no excuse.

Last Friday evening, I had to work late.  Usually I would use that as an excuse that I couldn’t exercise because I’d be too tired.  But I did it anyway.  I came home and jumped on the elliptical, and let me tell you, it felt great.  Not just exercising, but it felt great to overcome something I always allowed to hold me back.

Turns out that self-discipline is not only necessary, but it’s what makes you stronger, and it gives you more self-respect.  It feels good to push yourself.  Who would’ve thought?!

No more excuses.  Who’s with me? 🙂

11 responses to “Excuses, excuses…

  • Soup Guru

    Totally agree! I’m almost a professional procrastinator, but nothing gets done without discipline and I also fight my excuses one day at the time!

    • Laura-is-Inspired

      I’m a huge procrastinator, too. Sometimes it’s nice and works to my benefit because I’m more relaxed and don’t worry about things. But it’s definitely important to know what to procrastinate on .. and my health cannot be one of them 🙂

  • SugarFreeSweety

    I know what you’re talking about, I´ve absolutely no self discipline. There should be a pill for that! 🙂

  • andreakallay

    I have used every excuse in the book. Now, I belong to an exercise group that helps me stay accountable. I also make it a point to get up and get it done first thing in the morning. Otherwise I will dread it all day. Doing it in the am actually really starts my day off right!

  • roxyroxierocsi

    I’m with you! I use the excuse of: “I are bad already, whats the point of working out now?” and it makes no sense! Whether I eat great or okay, stay at work late or go out, I am committed to not missing a workout! Good job! Stay with it! 🙂

  • Lisa

    Getting there’s always the hard part–but for me, I can jump over that particular hurdle by saying, “just five minutes on the elliptical” or “just walk around the block,” and it gets me moving. Once I start, I just keep that going, “just five minutes more and you can quit.” I am, apparently, quite gullible. 🙂 But it works for me… whatever works for you, use it!

  • Helen

    There have been times when I was feeling bad after tough workouts and was unable to follow my training regime. That was not what I was planning to do when I’ve started going to the gym 🙂 My trainer has really helped me by telling a lot about the importance of propoer nutrition and by giving advices on how to improve it. Now I am trying to make my food as rich in nutrients as possible. Still, our everyday life sometimes does not allow receiving all vitamins and minerals from the food we take. Besides, after workouts our muscles need special support in order to recover properly. I was advised to take Second Wind by Military Grade. This is new post-workout supplement, which supports muscle recovery without any trauma. Now I am feeling better and stronger than ever before.

Thoughts? Comments?

