It helps to know your ABCs when you put together an elliptical!

So I bought an elliptical this week from Amazon, and it arrived yesterday.  I contemplated buying for several months now for a few reasons:

1) I’m lazy and have a hard time committing to the gym long enough to make it worth it, so my time, energy, and money is going to waste.  And even when I do go to the gym, I usually only use an elliptical anyway.

2) Having an elliptical at my house allows me to squeeze workouts in on days when I’m super busy or snowed in!

3) I figured if I invested a lot of money into one, that I would be more likely to use it so I don’t waste my money.

My friend Ben and I put it together last night, and it took a lot longer than I expected, mostly because I apparently suck at reading directions.  Just a tip:  When you take out all the screws and washers and bolts, label them and keep them separated so you don’t get confused like I did.  I took all of them out, and I did put them in order, but as the piles began to shrink and disappear, I couldn’t remember which pile was which.

After about 3 hours of putting it together, I realized I gave him the wrong sized washers (C) instead of the right washers (A) … ugh.  So we (I mean, he) had to retrace his steps and redo it.  I felt terrible and couldn’t believe I messed up the directions, considering they were super simple to follow.  Nevertheless, I messed it up.

It sucks to fail, and sometimes I’m able to realize that I failed and that I just need to move on and do better next time.  So that’s what I’m going to do.  Next time I put something together or do something new, I’m going to make sure I know what I’m doing and that I don’t make silly mistakes that are preventable!

Anyway, the elliptical was built and ready to use in 5 hours, when it should have taken maybe 3.  I used it this morning for the first time, and it will take some getting used to because it’s so different from the gym’s, but I can tell it’s going to work great!

I bought a Nautilus E514c Elliptical Trainer for those of you who are curious.  After I use it a little more, I plan to write a review, but for now I like it and am looking forward to NOT going to the gym in this annoyingly cold weather!

4 responses to “It helps to know your ABCs when you put together an elliptical!

Thoughts? Comments?

